REX mandatory in 22 countries

Another 22 countries switched over to REX program

REX mandatory in 22 countries

18 Feb 2019

In 2017, the phasing out of the Form-A and replacing it with the REX system, started. This is a self-certification program for registered exporters.

Since last January, 22 additional developing countries have switched to this system.
It concerns the following countries:

  1. Bangladesh
  2. Benin
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Cabo Verde
  5. Cambodia
  6. Haiti
  7. Indonesia
  8. Kyrgyz Republic
  9. Lesotho
  10. Madagascar
  11. Mauritania
  12. Mongolia
  13. Nigeria
  14. Paraguay
  15. Philippines
  16. Samoa
  17. Senegal
  18. Tajikistan
  19. Uganda
  20. Uzbekistan
  21. Vanuatu
  22. Vietnam


Because of the implementation of this new electronic system, the Form-A certificate and possible Certificate of Origin will no longer be required. Instead of these certificates the exporter will be required to registered with the appropriate authority in the concerned country.

The status of “registered exporter” will be given and the exporter will be able to issue their own statement regarding the origin of the commodity (normally found on the commercial invoice). He will get a REX-number and this number will have to be mentioned on the statement.

The statement will replace the function of the Form-A. The REX-system will be implemented gradually and so the Form-A will disappear in June 2020.

Read more about the REX system in our previous news item